Ofrenda

The state of things

Posted in photo by gwen on November 25, 2009

Ferry Park stained glass tree

Chad’s ankle looks even more disgusting today, parts of it are near-black and the whole side of the foot is a deep ocean blue.

I went to the farmer’s market today, it was 70 out and positively spring-like. I took off my cardigan and bared my arms and it was glorious. Stopped at the super-enthusiastic lady’s consignment shop and scored a nice autumnal light sporty jacket in a dark peach [wiki says ochre]. Got groceries with D, cooked a couple times, and did more housework in general than I have in awhile. I reorganized a little bit in the kitchen, which made me feel less resentful. I found the smell[s] in the refrigerator.

Watched Horatio Hornblower with Chad and made a pair of earrings and a knotted sea-color glass necklace, which I will probably look at after I’ve become more proficient at the knotting and think it is embarrassingly amateurish. But I like it now.

I am up too late again. I don’t know why I’ve been staying up so much, I hate waking up late, especially now that the day ends so early.

I still don’t know what we are doing on Thanksgiving, but D leaves on a train tomorrow mid-day and after that we’re kind of stranded. I should have bought a just-in-case turkey breast today. It is kind of looking like Chad is not going to be up to sitting in a car for the hour-long drive to San Jose, much less driving.

I think I will take the bus across town tomorrow to go to the cafe for a bit and will walk up to the shopping center to see if there is any of that turkey left. Just in case.

Tagged with: , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. alexandria said, on December 11, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    This photograph is gorgeous! I hope you and your family are feeling better.


Leave a Reply

