Ofrenda

Gwen and Chad, Asilomar

Posted in date day, gwen, photo by gwen on June 6, 2010

Pretty much any time we go anywhere scenic, at least one person will ask me to take their picture. I take very nice pictures of them. Every once in awhile I will ask someone to take our picture. I say, push the button halfway to focus, then all the way to shoot. I only ask people who are carrying their own cameras and I am pretty sure this is how most digital cameras work, right?

Yet almost invariably, we end up with a completely out of focus, crooked, feet-chopped-off photo. So you can imagine how pleased I was when today’s shooter returned my camera to me. Look at that. Nicely composed with our whole bodies in, heads above the horizon [which, you’ll notice, is not at a 45° angle!]. Thanks, lady stranger, you totally made my day!

June 6: Asilomar

[Asilomar State Beach, Pacific Grove, California]

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sharyn said, on June 8, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Nice! That’s good thinking on your part, and it paid off with this photo. I almost never think to have myself included in photos, which I am now kicking myself for. So many photos of my son over the years – vacation and otherwise – and I’m hardly in any of them! And the boyfriend and I only have a couple shots of us together. That’s a trickier proposition though, given that he’s a foot and a half taller than I am.

  2. alexandria said, on June 8, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    This calls for a serious congratulations! It’s so crazy how some can’t take a simple snapshot at times. Wonderful photo!

  3. Valerie said, on June 9, 2010 at 8:09 am

    yep it is one damn good picture !!
    i’m always behind the camera, so no pic of me. maybe once a year ?!
    i love your dress !!

  4. gwen said, on June 9, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Thank you everyone :]

    If anyone’s interested, the dress is from Target
    http://www.target.com/Mossimo-Supply-Juniors-Sleeveless-Floral/dp/B003929YV2
    It’s exceptional in that it is relatively sturdy and has an elastic back so I can wear it without a bra.

  5. Rita said, on June 10, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    This is a great photo! I agree with Sharyn, as the person usually taking the photos, I’m never in them, which isn’t an issue now, but I’m sure when I’m 80 and wrinkled I’ll wish I could remember what I looked like. Maybe 🙂 And yes, great dress.


Leave a Reply

